Monday, June 6, 2011

a bit a of a book review - Hunger Games

Book 1 - The Hunger Games
Could you survive on your own, in the wild, with everyone fighting against you?

Twenty-four are forced to enter. Only the winner survives. In the ruins of a place once known as North America lies the nation of Panem, a shining Capitol surrounded by twelve outlying districts. Each year, the districts are forced by the Capitol to send one boy and one girl between the ages of twelve and eighteen to participate in the Hunger Games, a brutal and terrifying fight to the death - televised for all of Panem to see.

Survival is second nature for sixteen-year-old Katniss Everdeen, who struggles to feed her mother and younger sister by secretly hunting and gathering beyond the fences of District 12. When Katniss steps in to take the place of her sister in the Hunger Games, she knows it may be her death sentence. If she is to survive, she must weigh survival against humanity and life against love.


Book 2 - Catching Fire
Katniss Everdeen survived the Hunger Games. Now the Capitol wants revenge.

After winning the brutal Hunger Games, Katniss Everdeen returns to her district, hoping for a peaceful future. But Katniss starts to hear rumours of a deadly rebellion against the Capitol. A rebellion that she and Peeta have helped to create. As Katniss and Peeta are forced to visit the districts on the Capitol's cruel Victory Tour, the stakes are higher than ever. Unless Katniss and Peeta can convince the world that they are still lost in their love for each other, the consequences will be horrifying...

The terrifying sequel to The Hunger Games.

Book 3 - Mocking Jay
Against all odds, Katniss Everdeen has survived the Hunger Games twice. But now that she's made it out of the bloody arena alive, she's still not safe. The Capitol is angry. The Capitol wants revenge. Who do they think should pay for the unrest? Katniss. And what's worse, President Snow has made it clear that no one else is safe either. Not Katniss's family, not her friends, not the people of District 12...


This series is not one you can start in the middle and go back to the beginning, you need to read in the order of the books written.  There are so many people's reviews you can read through, and I would suggest it, since everyone looks at things differently, but it is a best selling series for a reason.

Let me explain, I finished reading the Twilight series, and needed more, more action, more adventure, more than reading a book about traveling around the world, or grieving over a lost love could give me.  I read my sister's book that she is writing, and re-writing, and can't wait until she has come up with more, but her series is not finished yet, so I am waiting for it.  In the mean time I still hungered for action and adventure, and to be caught up in the story.  That's when my friend mentioned The Hunger Games, and I took a serious look at reading the book.  Unfortunately I only purchased the first book, and waited to by the others.  I read it through in a weekend, and was impatiently waiting for me next shipment of books to arrive.
These books are well written, character driven, and thought provoking stories.

There will be movies made, and I'm sure that the series will only gain more fervor.

Don't think of this as another love triangle, between a young woman and who she will choose to love. This is a story of war, and what it does to people.  When I first started to read it, I though of the comparison between it and Enders Game, others have made that comparison as well.  If you like action, and suspense, this book series packs it all in there.  I read each book in two days, I was completely captivated.
Now to find another exciting series to read...
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...